Giovanni Spadoni was elected president of the Association of Mediterranean Cruise Ports (MedCruise) last night at the 33rd MedCruise General Assembly in Venice, Italy. Spadoni, elected to a three-year term, is the technical and commercial manager of cruise and passenger terminal operator Porto di Livorno 2000 and is the former MedCruise director on port security.

Barcelona, Spain, represented by Carla Salvadó, was elected senior vice president and Ceuta, Spain, represented by José Francisco Torrado, was elected vice president.

The other ports voted to the Board of Directors are Cyprus Ports, with Yiannakis Kokkinos; Venice, Italy, represented by Enrica Capretti; Civitavecchia, Italy, with Malcolm Morini; Alanya, Turkey, represented by Haluk Sayman; Cagliari, Italy, represented by Valeria Mangiarotti; Koper, Slovenia, with Aldo Babic; Rijeka, Croatia, with Snijezana Papes; and Sochi, Russia, represented by David Stupelman.