The International Seafarers’ Welfare and Assistance Network (ISWAN) will open its 2014 welfare awards for nominations in early September. The award ceremony will be held at the IMO in Geneva April 7, 2014.

Last year’s winners were Shell Shipping – for Shipping Company of the Year, with Holland America Line on the short-list for this award.

Seafarers’ House Port Everglades won the Seafarers’ Center of the Year award for 2013, and Kandla Port in India was the Port of the Year winner.

Nominations are mainly made by seafarers.

The awards are supported by the International Shipping Federation, the International Transport Workers’ Federation, the International Christian Maritime Association and the International Labor Organization.

ISWAN is a non-governmental organization, supported by charitable contributions and operates a 24-hour, multi-lingual helpline for seafarers, in addition to working jointly with companies, governments, unions and welfare workers to run projects and programs.

Cruise Industry News Email Alerts